The following information is retrieved from PWD’s Your Watershed Site for Darby-Cobbs Watershed. Click the link for further details on each one of the watersheds.


For more information on the partners click here.

Additional Resources:

The Darby-Cobbs Watershed drains approximately 77 square miles, including portions of Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia counties. The headwaters of the Cobbs Creek subwatershed begin in three distinct places: East Branch Indian Creek springing up in a small residential neighborhood in Narberth Borough; West Branch Indian Creek in Lower Merion Township in Montgomery County; and Cobbs Creek in Haverford Township, Delaware County. In total, Cobbs Creek weaves its way through 10 municipalities until it meets with the mainstream Darby Creek in Colwyn Borough, where it then dashes down to the John Heinz Wildlife Refuge in Tinicum. The watershed is often subdivided into the Cobbs Creek, Darby Creek, and Tinicum subwatersheds for planning purposes.

The Cobbs Creek Watershed has something for everyone to discover. In addition to many historical and diverse neighborhoods, active and passive recreational activities can be found along the Cobbs Creek and in the surrounding area, connecting you with your watershed neighbors.


Fast Facts:

  • Area: The entire watershed drains approximately 77 square miles; The Cobbs Creek subwatershed is approximately 22 square miles.
  • Stream Miles: Darby Cobbs watershed contains approximately 135 linear miles of streams, about 33 miles of which are in the Cobbs Creek subwatershed.
  • Population: The watershed as a whole is home to about 460,000 residents, but population density is much higher in and near the City of Philadelphia. About 230,000 people, or half of the watershed’s residents, live in the Cobbs Creek subwatershed.
  • Impervious Cover: Impervious cover is estimated at 45 percent.
  • Counties / Municipalities: The watershed encompasses areas of Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, and Philadelphia counties, with all or parts of 31 municipalities, including Easttown, Tredyffrin, Aldan, Clifton Heights, Collingdale, Colwyn, Darby, East Lansdowne, Folcroft, Glenolden, Haverford, Lansdowne, Marple, Millbourne, Morton, Newtown, Norwood, Prospect Park, Radnor, Ridley Park, Ridley, Rutledge, Sharon Hill, Springfield, Tinicum, Upper Darby, Yeadon, Lower Merion, and Narberth.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s